Rihanna Earns Four New RIAA Diamond Certified Singles

Rihanna’s staying power is truly one of a kind. Despite not releasing an album in over eight years, the global icon continues to reach new heights in music. 

The nine-time Grammy winner has achieved over a dozen new awards from the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA).

Of Rih’s 13 new RIAA certifications, four are diamond. Her Billboard Hot 100 chart-topper “Work” and “Needed Me” from her 2016 magnum opus, ANTI, have now sold over 10 million equivalent units. 

Here is a breakdown of Rihanna’s new RIAA certifications from ANTI, including the previously mentioned:

  • “Work” (certified diamond, 10 million equivalent units)
  • Needed Me” (certified diamond, 10 million equivalent units)
  • “Love on the Brain” (7x platinum, seven million equivalent units)
  • “Sex With Me” (3x platinum, three million units)
Westbury Road Entertainment/Roc Nation Records

“Stay,” the piano ballad from her 2012 Grammy-winning album Unapologetic, has also been certified diamond. 

“Cockiness (Love It),” a fan-favorite from 2011’s Talk That Talk, is now platinum. 

Rihanna’s 2010 album Loud is now certified 5x platinum, having sold over five million equivalent units. The album’s opening track, “S&M,” has been upped to 6x platinum with six million units sold. 

Furthermore, Rihanna has gained new awards for songs from her career-defining third album, Good Girl Gone Bad. (The album’s 17th anniversary is today, May 31.) Her Grammy-winning No. 1 hit “Umbrella,” featuring Jay-Z, is now diamond.

Here is a breakdown of the new RIAA certifications from Good Girl Gone Bad:

  • “Umbrella” featuring Jay-Z (diamond, 10 million equivalent units sold)
  • “Hate That I Love You” featuring Ne-Yo (3x platinum, three million equivalent units)
  • “Shut Up and Drive” (3x platinum, three million equivalent units)
Rihanna Good Girl Gone Bad album cover
Def Jam Recordings

Additionally, Rihanna also collected new plaques for her Deputy-produced “B*tch Better Have My Money” (4x platinum) and “FourFiveSeconds” (5x platinum). 

With Rihanna’s new RIAA awards, she now has the most diamond singles for a female artist and the most diamond-certified titles for a female artist. Of Rihanna’s seven diamond singles, six of them are as a lead artist.

Here are all of Rihanna’s RIAA Diamond awards (as of May 31, 2024):

  • “Love The Way You Lie,” Eminem featuring Rihanna (13x platinum)
  • Stay” featuring Mikky Ekko (11x platinum)
  • “Work” featuring Drake (10x platinum)
  • “We Found Love” featuring Calvin Harris (10x platinum)
  • “Umbrella” featuring Jay-Z (10x platinum)
  • “Needed Me” (10x platinum)
  • Diamonds” (10x platinum)

In response to her new milestone, Rih wrote the following caption on Instagram: “ain’t no back n forth.”