PJ Morton Announces New Album ‘Cape Town to Cairo’

PJ Morton will release his new album, Cape Town to Cairo, on June 14 via Morton Records / EMPIRE.

The Grammy-winning singer and musician recorded the album during his month-long trip in Africa, where he visited South Africa, Nigeria, Ghana and Egypt. 

The nine-track offering, which includes the lead single “Please Be Good,” features Fireboy DML, Mádé Kuti, Asa & Ndabo Zulu, and Soweto Spiritual Singers. 

Morton embarked on his 30-day trip last fall, which he described as the best trip of his life.

PJ Morton. (Photo Credit: Cedric Tang)

Speaking on Cape Town to Cairo, Morton says, “When you’ve been in music as long as I have, you’re constantly looking for inspiration. And you’re looking for the things that made you want to do it in the first place. I’ve made albums every type of way you can think, so I wanted to try something I hadn’t done before.”

He continues, “As a Black American who had never been to South or West Africa, I knew there was something there waiting for me. So I put a little pressure on myself to make a full record in a month, but I also said, ‘If I’m gonna go to Africa, I want to see Africa.’ We made music, but we also formed connections. We made new friends, and this is just the start.”

Cape Town to Cairo is the follow-up to Morton’s 2022 album, Watch The Sun. The Grammy-nominated album featured appearances by Stevie Wonder, Nas, El DeBarge, Jill Scott, Alex Isley and more.

Morton released “Please Be Good” on Feb. 23 as the first offering from Cape Town to Cairo. 

Regarding the song, Morton noted, “I was in Lagos, Nigeria and one of my favorite new producers P. Priime played this beat. I immediately took out my phone and started to record ideas. I love that it’s a mixture of so many vibes.”

In other news, Morton recently teamed with musical duo Louis York for their latest single, “Puppet Strings.” 

Furthermore, Morton is gearing up to release his memoir, Saturday Night, Sunday Morning, on Nov. 12. 

PJ Morton Cape Town to Cairo album cover
Morton Records/EMPIRE

PJ Morton’s Cape Town to Cairo Album Tracklist

1. Smoke & Mirrors
2. Count On Me feat. Fireboy DML
3. Please Be Good
4. Who You Are feat. Mádé Kuti
5. Thank You
6. I Found You
7. All The Dreamers feat. Asa & Ndabo Zulu
8. Home Again
9. Simunye (We Are One) feat. Soweto Spiritual Singers