Andra Day Announces ‘Cassandra (cherith)’ Album Release Date, Shares New Song ‘Chasing’

Andra Day’s new album is coming this spring. The Grammy-winning singer has announced her third LP, Cassandra (cherith), will release May 10 via Warner Records. 

The album contains 16 tracks, including the previously shared “Where Do We Go,” “Probably,” and the latest single, “Chasing.” 

The latter track tells a heartwarming story about finding unexpected love. Day’s ethereal vocals flow over gossamer guitar plucks, later met with a rumbling bass line, delicate piano, and whispering maracas. 

“Always been good on my own / But you brought the sun and the ocean / See, now I’m thinking in prose / ‘Cause talking to you is like is poetry / ‘Cause you made me feel something / Never thought about all this,” Day sings.

Andra Day. (Photo Credit: Myriam Santos)

Before “Chasing,” Day released “Probably” in February, ahead of her “Lift Every Voice and Sing” performance at the Super Bowl.

Speaking on the track, Day shared, “It came from the idea that there are three sides to every story: There are two people involved, if we’re looking at it that way. There’s this side, there’s this person’s side, and there’s the truth. I hate hearing women called crazy. Especially by their partners, especially by men on social media, no offense.”

Day launched her third album era in January with the soul-barring “Where Do We Go.” 

Cassandra (cherith) is named after Day, who was born Cassandra Batie. The new album will follow 2021’s The United States vs. Billie Holiday (Music from the Motion Picture). The Grammy-winning soundtrack included the original song “Tigress & Tweed,” written and produced by Day and Raphael Saadiq.

Day starred as Billie Holiday in the film, which earned her an Oscar nod for Best Actress. 

On June 1, Day will headline the Blue Note Jazz Festival in New York City. 

Stream Andra Day’s new song “Chasing” below. 

(continue scrolling to pre-save)

Andra Day’s Cassandra (cherith) Tracklist

1. Maybe Next Time
2. Probably
3. Narcos (H.C.D)
4. Midnight
5. Bottom Of The Bottle
6. In The Meantime
7. More
8. Heavy On My Mind
9. Where Do We Go
10. Chasing
11. Nervous
12. Champagne Flutes
13. About It
14. Empty
15. Still
16. Thank You God (Mom Reading Psalm 62)

Pre-save Andra Day’s new album Cassandra here.